I'm a Muslim man living in Europe and seeing a woman's hair makes me lose control. What do I do about this?
I’m gonna answer this as a Muslim myself. I know Islam has a bad reputation for being “misogynistic” because unfortunately a lot of Muslim men such as you forget that while we women have certain rules to follow, so do men. Yes, Islam tells girls to cover their hair and dress modestly. But you know what else Islam says? Islam also tells men to lower their gaze. Yeah, that’s right. Just because a woman isn’t covering her hair or chooses to wear clothes that can be considered revealing does not give you the right to stare and judge. Islam hates hypocrites so don’t be one. Fulfill your duty and just look away, okay? It’s none of your business if other women are obeying certain rules, that’s their business and we don’t have the right to judge, only God does. So stop being so immature.
Edit: Hello everyone. I just wanted to take a minute to say thank you to everyone who has upvoted my answer as well as those who are telling me how this is a troll question. Yes, I know, this is most likely a troll question. But I still wanted to answer it with respect to my religion and clear up any misconceptions people have about Islam.
As for the hateful comments that have started coming in ever since I published this answer- All I’m going to say is that I do not view myself as better than anyone or “holier” and I do respect other people from other religions. I won’t lie, I feel like most of these people in the comments spreading hate and talking about how Muslims are destroying the West, most likely have never met an actual Muslim in real life or made acquaintances with one. And if I am wrong, and there are Islamophobes who have met and befriended a Muslim before, I apologize sincerely on that Muslim’s behalf. Perhaps they were not a true Muslim to begin with. Islam values educating oneself and unfortunately, a lot of Muslims in today’s times aren’t as well educated on their faith. So if any such “Muslim” has ever wronged any of you, I am sorry.
But as far as responding to all these comments goes, my intention in answering this question was simply to answer the question. This post is NOT an invitation to attack me or my religion and the fact that I even have to write this paragraph out right now is quite sad. Although I can and although I want to for the sake of my mental well-being, I will not disable the comments for this answer since people love painting us as the bad guys, this action will probably also be twisted as “silencing people” or something. So there, you have your freedom of speech and you can exercise that right and write all you want under my comments. If it leaves you satisfied to attack a teenager for God’s sake- online, then have your peace of mind. Perhaps one day you will reflect on this and think how pathetic your life has been for your actions to come to this.
Personally, I feel that the world would’ve been a much better place if people decided to just not speak if they didn’t have something nice to say. But you do you. For the sake of my mental health, I will not be checking the comments anymore nor responding to them. But I will say this, I do not have all the answers to everyone’s questions because I am not an Islamic scholar. For those of you who have genuine questions and curiosity about Islam, as well as those of you who are in hopes of a fair debate, I’d suggest reaching out to an Islamic scholar instead of a random teen online. They are more knowledgeable and are more likely to have the answers you’re looking for.
Lastly, I am sorry for making everyone so mad. You guys are telling me and my people to wait for our karma so alright, I’ll wait for my karma. There, are you happy?
Well, goodbye then.

Comments